Jacksonville City Council President Lori Boyer recognized Groundwork Jacksonville as a 2017 Melody Starr Anne Bishop Award honoree at the Council’s June 29, installation meeting. The award was presented in recognition of Groundwork’s efforts to clean up Jacksonville’s waterways and its active involvement in the urban core. Other 2017 honorees were Clean Waterway Society, Rising Tides, Beaches Sea Turtle Patrol and the Island Keepers.

Acting Executive Director Alyssa Bourgoyne was on hand to receive the award along with Board Chair James Richardson and Board members Darcel Harris and Kristina Nelson. “On behalf of Groundwork’s Board and volunteers, we are so appreciative of this recognition. We also are proud to be in such great company with the other honorees, many of which we partner with on projects throughout the year,” said Bourgoyne.

Named in honor of Melody Starr Anne Bishop, the award is given annually by the out-going Council President to recognize civic involvement and contributions to improving the City’s quality of life. Melody Starr Anne Bishop, who died in March 2009 at age 21 from ALS (Lou Gehrig’s disease), was well known for her devotion to her community, her church, and to numerous causes. In 2009, out-going President Ronnie Fussell established the Melody Starr Anne Bishop Award for community service by a citizen or organization.

Groundwork Jacksonville Board Chair James Richardson added, “I am so very proud to represent Groundwork Jacksonville and accept this award along with Alyssa Bourgoyne and our board members. This recognition is a testament to the hard work of our volunteers and the leadership and determination that Alyssa brings to our organization.”